Echoes of Sherlock Holmes
Laurie R. King, Leslie S. Klinger

Book cover image

Narrated By: various narrators, Alison Larkin, Clive Chafer, Derek Perkins, Donald Corren, Anne Flosnik, Kate Reading, Marguerite Gavin, Mirron Willis, Ralph Lister, Saskia Maarleveld, Sarah Nichols, Tim Gerard Reynolds, Traber Burns

Duration: 13 hours and 29 minutes

What to expect

A brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canon

In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Leslie Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

To the editors’ great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives inspired by Holmes’ adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!

Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories, some entries do fit that mold while others were inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as listeners new to Doyle’s writing.

Genre

Crime and mystery fiction, Anthologies: general, Classic crime and mystery fiction

Listen to a sample

“There is much to please lovers of Sherlock Holmes in this second collection of short stories that relate to the great detective. Six performers narrate eighteen stories by different authors, a conceit that works well for the most part. While some stories are better than others, most are excellent…The narrators are an able bunch, and the device of changing voices highlights the variation among the stories. Included are a wonderful piece about what happens to characters when their authors die; an argument between Holmes and Conan Doyle; and the intrepid wit of a twenty-first-century girl who is inspired by ‘The Man.’ It’s all good fun.”

AudioFile

“A most enjoyable and intriguing book.”

Washington Times

“A rich variety of entries.”

Publishers Weekly

“Every fan will find different reasons to cheer [and] marvel at the inventive range of this salute to the greatest of all fictional detectives.”

Kirkus Reviews

“A treasure.”

Newark Star-Ledger

“A powerhouse of a collection, sure to please even the most particular Sherlockian.”

River Heights Book Review

“If you are a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s consulting detective series, you owe it to yourself to read this collection…The reader is sure to be amazed, delighted, and entertained.”