Johannes Cabal and the Blustery Day
Jonathan L. Howard

Book cover image

Narrated By: Nicholas Guy Smith

Duration: 7 hours and 19 minutes

What to expect

Johannes Cabal is a necromancer—and he’s slightly infamous.

Johannes Cabal and the Blustery Day: And Other Tales of the Necromancer features seven of Cabal’s most frightening adventures:

“Exeunt Demon King,”“The Ereshkigal Working,”“Johannes Cabal and the Blustery Day,”“The House of Gears,”“The Death of Me,”“Ouroboros Ouzo,” and“A Long Spoon.”

Also included is an original introduction written and read by the author.


Occult fiction, Horror and supernatural fiction, Fantasy, Anthologies: general, Dark fantasy, Fantasy, Horror and supernatural fiction, Science fiction: steampunk

Listen to a sample

“Narrator Nicholas Guy Smith leads the listener through this ghoulish collection of short stories, his charming British accent accentuating the heavy dash of dour humor that pervades Cabal’s universe. The introduction, read by the author himself, prepares listeners for a sometimes ghastly but mostly enjoyable ride. Smith has a way of lowering his voice to hushed tones during suspenseful points, piquing the listener’s interest. His conversational tone ties the stories together, making them equally enjoyable to listen to in bite-size chunks or several hours at a time.”