Darkness on the Edge of Town
Jonathan Maberry

Book cover image

Narrated By: Ray Porter

Duration: 5 hours and 11 minutes

What to expect

From New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry comes a collection of five stories set in "the Spookiest Town in America"—including one brand-new story.

In "Long Way Home," a young soldier returns from the Middle East and discovers that there is another—and much stranger—war to be fought in his hometown.

In "Mister Pockets," a young paperboy discovers that a random act of kindness may have greater consequences—especially as night falls in Pine Deep.

In "Property Condemned," a prequel to the Pine Deep trilogy, young Malcolm Crow and his friends go looking for ghosts and find something much darker and hungrier.

In "Whistlin' past the Graveyard," a cemetery worker in Pine Deep begins to suspect that the dead are not resting easy in their graves.

And in the new story "The Trouble," a direct sequel to the Pine Deep trilogy, Malcolm Crow thought he had destroyed the evil that had terrorized his town for forty years. But a new series of brutal murders forces him to prepare for another battle with the forces of darkness.


Horror and supernatural fiction, Short stories

Listen to a sample

“Every so often you discover an author whose writing is so lyrical that it transcends mere storytelling. Jonathan Maberry is just such an author.”

Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author, praise for the author

“Maberry breathes new life into modern horror fiction.”