Battle Flag
Bernard Cornwell

Book cover image

Narrated By: Grover Gardner

Duration: 15 hours and 4 minutes

What to expect

This is book three in the Starbuck Chronicles, Bernard Cornwell’s exciting Civil War novel series.

After distinguishing himself at the Battle of Cedar Mountain, Confederate Captain Nate Starbuck is persecuted by his jealous and suspicious brigade commander, the grandiose General Washington Faulconer. Their simmering enmity flares to life at Dead Mary’s Ford, where Starbuck must fight the enemy as well as his own commanding officer.

The outcome of this vicious fight drastically changes both men’s fortunes and propels Starbuck into the ghastly bloodletting of the Second Battle of Manassas, a severe test of his ability to lead men on the very edge of disaster.


Historical fiction, War, combat and military adventure fiction

Listen to a sample

“The best thing to hit Civil War fiction…one of the finest authors of military historical fiction today.”

Washington Times

“A superb series.”

San Jose Mercury News

“Cornwell is more than a great storyteller…[He] has woven an excellent history of the Civil War in the eastern theater.”

Flint Journal

“This is a joy for those who enjoy adventure.”