Divorce Diet
Ellen Hawley

Book cover image

Narrated By: Erin Bennett

Duration: 8 hours and 6 minutes

What to expect

The Divorce Diet is a novel that should be dedicated to every woman who ever walked away from a man—or a diet. It's bitingly funny and insightful, while celebrating food and self-discovery—just don't read it while you're hungry. It's perfect for fans of Julie and Julia and Eat, Pray, Love.

Abigail loves her baby Rosie, her husband Thad, and food. She takes great joy and comfort in concocting culinary delights to show the depth of her love and commitment to her family. Imagine her surprise when Thad announces, "this whole marriage thing … just doesn't work for me." Abigail can't believe he really means what he's said, but he does. Abigail and Rosie move back in to her parents' house, where she regresses into her adolescent self. She diets, finds work, and begins to discover the life she really wants, and a man who really wants her.

Genre

Fiction: general and literary, Fiction: general and literary

Listen to a sample

“Revenge is sweet. Reinventing yourself after getting knocked down by a cheating husband and creating a whole new life filled with recipes, an imaginary guru, and a food column is even sweeter. Loved the whole book.”

Cathy Lamb, author of If You Could See What I See

“Food and love and loss and resilience—and a terrific narrative playfulness—are Hawley’s recipe for a slyly entertaining and heartening novel.”