Clairvoyant of Calle Ocho
Anjanette Delgado

Book cover image

Narrated By: Roxanne Hernandez

Duration: 9 hours and 34 minutes

What to expect

Two divorces have taught Mariela Estevez that she's better suited to being a mistress than a wife. Whose heart needs all that "forever after" trouble? Still, her affair with her married lover, Hector, has become problematic—especially because he's also a tenant in her apartment building in the heart of Miami's Calle Ocho in Little Havana. But when Hector is found dead just steps from Mariela's back door, on the eve of her fortieth birthday, she's forced to examine her life—and come up with a plan to save it, fast.

Complicating matters, Hector's passing sparks the unexpected return of a gift Mariela rejected years ago and thought she'd never have to face again: clairvoyance. Suddenly, Mariela's visions come swiftly and unbidden, as do revelations about her other tenants. Lost loves, hidden yearnings, old jealousies—all reside on Calle Ocho. Most of all, Mariela's second sight awakens her not just to the truth about Hector's death and the secrets in others' lives—but to the possibilities blooming within her own.

With warmth, wit, and insight, award-winning author Anjanette Delgado explores one woman's flawed but heartfelt attempt to live and love well, transporting listeners to the center of contemporary Little Havana and a community of uniquely human, unforgettable characters.

Genre

Fiction: general and literary, Fiction: general and literary, Contemporary romance

Listen to a sample

“Delgado brings Miami’s Calle Ocho in Little Havana to life with a fun, engaging read. Her witty, humorous dialogue will make you smile—maybe even laugh out loud—as her characters navigate their complex lives.”

RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

“Fans of Carolyn Haines and Charlaine Harris will delight in this debut mystery from Delgado…With the chatty prose of chick lit, a sassy girlfriend narrator, and a self-help cheerleading attitude (‘The secret to talking to the dead is...your belief that you can do it’), it doesn’t take a psychic to predict that this fun novel will be a hit.”

Publishers Weekly

“Well written…The heroine’s struggles are relatable and will prod readers to reevaluate what to look for in love and life. Delgado’s second foray into the fiction world provides intricate detail and introspection. Readers of Latino literature and those who like a strong mystery will appreciate this journey down the road to Calle Ocho and into a vibrant, interlinked Cuban community.”

Library Journal

The Clairvoyant of Calle Ocho reminds me of why I started reading in the first place—to be enchanted, to be carried away from my world and dropped into a world more vivid and incandescent. Anjanette Delgado loves her characters, even the miscreants, and makes us love them too.”

John Dufresne, author of No Regrets, Coyote

“A thrilling, hilarious, and mysterious romp.”