Beverly Lewis

Book cover image

Narrated By: Marguerite Gavin

Duration: 7 hours and 14 minutes

What to expect

From the moment she found the satin baby dress in the attic of her parents' Amish home, Katie Lapp's identity was shattered. Painfully torn from her close-knit community in a frightening ordeal called the "shunning," Katie, now Katherine Mayfield, sets out to find the ailing birth mother—and a life—she has never known. Her journey takes her to the peaceful home of Lydia Miller, where electric lights and telephones set Katherine's mind whirling, and on to the elaborate Bennett estate, where the plain garb of the Amish is misused to disguise an evil conspiracy. Unknown to Katherine, her first love, Daniel, is taking steps to return to his Amish family and to her. But their worlds may have drifted too far apart to bridge the gap.

The Confessionis the second book in the Heritage of Lancaster County trilogy, which re-creates the simple life of the Amish.


Religious and spiritual fiction, Fiction: general and literary

Listen to a sample

“A good portrait of an Amish girl facing the outside world for the first time.”

Library Journal

“The narrator of this audiobook series, Marguerite Gavin, is wonderful. Gavin uses a very believable Amish dialect when she speaks the phrases of the characters and also has a very captivating voice. I’m thankful that Blackstone Audio used the same narrator throughout the series, it makes the story flow better from book to book…Overall, the Heritage of Lancaster County series is wonderful and captivating. I truly enjoyed all three books.”