Tender Years
Janette Oke

Book cover image

Narrated By: Marguerite Gavin

Duration: 7 hours and 25 minutes

What to expect

Twenty years have passed since youngest daughter Belinda's story in Love Finds a Home. Marty and Clark's spiritual heritage has been lovingly passed on to their children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. And now beloved granddaughter Virginia faces the greatest test of her young life. Caught in that difficult period between childhood and adulthood, feeling that she really doesn't fit anywhere, Virginia struggles against what she considers to be unreasonable restrictions and expectations. Her parents are too strict, her sister is too bossy, and God seems too far away.

Then a new girl arrives at school, a big-city girl ready to stir things up in the small prairie town. Jenny seems to represent everything that Virginia is longing for—her looks, her daring, and her alluring freedom from constraints. Breaking the rules and instigating gossip become special thrills for the girls. But then comes the day neither girl will ever forget.

This is a final series featuring the beloved characters from Love Comes Softly.


Religious and spiritual fiction, Historical fiction, Historical fiction, Religious and spiritual fiction

Listen to a sample

“As always with Oke’s books, the characters are charming and engaging. Fans of the Love Comes Softly series will certainly demand this compelling and well-written follow-up.”

Library Journal

“Gavin’s soft drawl and sweet, clear voice seem just right for this tale.” 


“Oke’s legions of fans will be glad to hear that this novel begins a new series…A bittersweet, winning story.”