Lancashire Lass
Libby Ashworth

Book cover image

Narrated By: Katy Sobey

Duration: 8 hours and 31 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE INSPIRATIONAL MILL TOWN LASSES SERIES. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Catherine Cookson.

Lancashire, 1832

Maids Hannah and Mary find themselves with no jobs and no home when their employer, Henry Sudell, loses all his money and disappears in the middle of the night. They have no choice but to return to Blackburn where Hannah is lucky to be taken in by her sister Jennet and brother-in-law, Titus, but Mary must seek lodgings in the infamous Star beer house.

Mary tries to get her job back as a weaver, but the influx of workers from the countryside and no support for the working class means that jobs are scarce. With no other choice she remains at the beer house, forced to risk her reputation and even her life.

In the middle of a cholera outbreak and political upheaval, can Mary ever find a way to recover all she's lost?

Praise for Libby Ashworth

'An engrossing tale of hardship, struggles, love and family' Kitty Neale

'Vividly drawn characters . . . gritty and heartfelt' Evie Grace

'Brimming with drama, heartbreak, love, friendship and the powerful bonds of family' Lancashire Post

© Libby Ashworth 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Generational sagas, Historical romance, Family life fiction, Historical fiction

Listen to a sample