Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome 1)
Manda Scott

Book cover image

Narrated By: Philip Stevens

Duration: 18 hours and 45 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

From bestselling author MC Scott, a heady, fast-paced and exciting historical adventure full of religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

AD 64:
Rome is burning. Only one man can save it.

The Emperor:
Nero, Emperor of Rome and feared by his subjects for his temper and cruelty, is in possession of an ancient document predicting that Rome will burn.

The Spy: Sebastos Pantera, assassin and spy for the Roman Legions is ordered to stop the impending cataclysm. He knows that if he doesn't, his life - and that of thousands of others - is in terrible danger.

The Chariot Boy: Math, a young charioteer, subject to the wiles and schemes of the Emperor and the Spy.

Who will win this game, where death stalks the drivers - on the track and off it.

"As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate..." - The Independent.
"A gripping tale..." - Daily Mail.
"I was totally engrossed..." - Reader review.

© Manda Scott 2010 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Genre

Historical fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction, Political / legal thriller, Esoteric thriller, Espionage & spy thriller, Narrative theme: Politics, European history: the Romans

Listen to a sample

As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate

Independent

A gripping tale, with more to come

Daily Mail

A heady, fast-paced, well-written, and exciting book...Brilliant stuff