Women and Leadership
Julia Gillard and Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Book cover image

Narrated By: Julia Gillard, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Shari Sebbens

Duration: 9 hours and 24 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Sheryl Sandberg and Mary Beard, Women and Leadership is a powerful call to arms about the lack of women at the top.
________________

Women make up less than 10 per cent of national leaders, and behind this lies a pattern of unequal access to power. In conversation with some of the world's most powerful and interesting women, Women and Leadership explores gender bias and asks why there aren't more women in leadership roles?

Using current research as a starting point, Gillard and Okonjo-Iweala form questions and hypotheses, then test them on the lived experiences of women leaders such as Jacinda Ardern, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Christine Lagarde,Michelle Bachelet and Theresa May.

Speaking honestly and freely, they talk about having their ideas stolen by male colleagues, about what it's like to be called fat or a slut in the media, and about the things they wish they had done differently. Their stories reveal how gender and sexism affect perceptions of women as leaders, the trajectories of their leaderships, and the circumstances in which they come to an end.

The result is a rare insight into life as a leader, and a powerful call to arms for women everywhere.

© Julia Gillard and Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Advice on careers and achieving success, Management: leadership and motivation, Psychology of gender, Memoirs

Listen to a sample

Who better qualified to delve into this topic?