Art of Noticing
Rob Walker

Book cover image

Narrated By: Fred Sanders

Duration: 4 hours and 52 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the audio edition of The Art of Noticing by Rob Walker, read by Fred Sanders.

Notice more, and notice more joy in the everyday.

Distracted? Overwhelmed? Feel like your attention is constantly being pulled in different directions? Learn how to steal it back.

Accessible and inspiring, this book features 131 surprising and innovative exercises to help you tune out white noise, get unstuck from your screen and manage daily distractions.

Make small yet impactful changes and bring focus to the things and people that are most important to you.

Genre

Self-help, personal development & practical advice, Gift books

Listen to a sample

Rob Walker's writing has always been wonderful because of his unique eye for noticing what other people miss. With this new book, he's basically teaching you all his secrets for seeing.

Ryan Holiday, bestselling author of Ego is the Enemy and The Obstacle Is The Way

In the tradition of John Berger, Susan Sontag, and George Nelson, Rob Walker offers a guide not to looking but to seeing – and why the difference is crucial. At once passionate and charming, he makes the case that noticing what’s there is the first step in creating what’s new.

Michael Bierut, cofounder of Design Observer and author of Now You See It and Other Essays on Design

The Art Of Noticing is a book about reading, verbal and non-verbal reading, which is how we increasingly read now, and how we have always read. Walker encourages us to make a non-literal reading of our world, which can mean non-judgmental and more enlightened.

Leanne Shapton, author of Guestbook

Attention is a precious resource, one we waste in stupid ways. And attention is a muscle, one we can easily develop. In this refreshingly practical book, Rob Walker gives us 131 ways to treasure and improve our ability to see.

Seth Godin, author of This is Marketing

If you want a more interesting and creative life, the first thing to do is to start paying better attention to it. In The Art of Noticing, Rob Walker provides an essential guide to becoming an explorer of your everyday world. I found a ton to steal here and so will you.