Single Mum's Wish List
Charlene Allcott

Book cover image

Narrated By: Jennifer Saayeng

Duration: 10 hours and 38 minutes

What to expect

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Single Mum's Wish List written by Charlene Allcott, read by Jennifer Saayeng.

--------------------------
'One of the freshest, funniest, most exciting new voices I’ve read for a long time' JANE FALLON

'Fresh and funny and REAL ... Martha really spoke to me. She will steal everyone's heart!' VERONICA HENRY

'Beautifully written and emotionally intelligent. I rooted for Martha from the start.' Daily Mail

Meet Martha Ross. She dreams of being a singer, but she’s been working in a call centre for far too long. She’s separating from her husband, the father of her son. And she’s moving back home to her parents’ as a single mum, toddler in tow.

Life has thrown her a few lemons . . . but Martha intends to make a gin and tonic. It’s time to become the woman she’s always wanted to be. And at least her mum’s on hand to provide childcare – and ample motherly judgement, of course.

Soon Martha realises that in order to find lasting love and fulfilment, she needs to find herself first . . . But her attempts at reinvention – from writing a definitive wish list of everything she wants in a new man, to half-marathons, business plans and meditation retreats – tend to go awry in the most surprising of ways . . .

A warm, vibrant and painfully funny novel for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Fiona Gibson and Lucy Vine.

*Also published as The Reinvention of Martha Ross*

Genre

Romance, Modern & contemporary fiction, Contemporary romance, Family life fiction, Humorous fiction, Contemporary lifestyle fiction

Listen to a sample

Beautifully written and emotionally intelligent. I rooted for Martha from the start.

Sara Lawrence, Daily Mail

[A] warm and insightful debut with a clever, funny and totally relatable heroine.

S magazine, Sunday Express

What fabulous, confident writing! One of the freshest, funniest, most exciting new voices I've read for a long time.

Jane Fallon

Very funny and delightfully relatable - this was a real treat.

Trisha Ashley

Fresh and funny and REAL ... Martha really spoke to me. She will steal everyone's heart!