Spider Network
David Enrich

Book cover image

Narrated By: Mike Chamberlain

Duration: 15 hours and 32 minutes

What to expect

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Spider Network by David Enrich, read by Mike Chamberlain.

Shortlisted for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year

The Spider Network is the almost-unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal – one of the biggest, farthest-reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis – written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to fourteen years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London.

By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Network is a perfect read for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short.

‘Will snare you in its web of deceit ... A brilliant investigative exposé’ - Harlan Coben, bestselling thriller author

‘Reads like a fast-paced John le Carré thriller, and never lets up’ - New York Times book review

Genre

Banking, True crime

Listen to a sample

a surprisingly human narrative … truly memorable … a vivid depiction of the ethos of the core financial institutions upon which the global economy depends

New York Times

Anyone with an interest in financial services and in what has gone wrong will find The Spider Network compelling.

The Times

supremely gripping ... a thrilling tour de force of reporting, revelation and reasoning ... unmissable

Iain Martin, bestselling author of MAKING IT HAPPEN: FRED GOODWIN, RBS AND THE MEN WHO BLEW UP THE BRITISH ECONOMY

will snare you in its web of deceit, lies, corruption, manipulation and colourful characters. [a] brilliant investigative exposé

Harlan Coben, bestselling thriller author

a model of investigative financial writing... a more satisfying read than THE BIG SHORT by Michael Lewis