Night Of Knives
Ian C Esslemont

Book cover image

Narrated By: John Banks

Duration: 9 hours and 58 minutes

What to expect

This incredibly atmospheric and action - packed epic fantasy from million copy seller Ian C Esslemont is a must read for fans of Steven Erikson, David Gemmell and Brandon Sanderson.

"Visceral power...telling a story set largely over just one terrifying night, it pulverises you with an economy that is rare in fantasy" - SFX

"Fast paced storytelling...an enjoyable balance" - SFFworld
"A pleasing...entertaining romp" - DeathRay
"Absolutely outstanding" -- ***** Reader review
"Fast paced and a compelling read" -- ***** Reader review
"Brilliant. Couldn't put it down" -- ***** Reader review

*******************************************************
THE ONE NIGHT THAT WILL CHANGE THINGS FOREVER

Malaz gave a great empire its name, but now this island and its city amount to little more than a sleepy backwater.
Until this night.

Because this night there is to be a convergence, the once-in-a-generation appearance of a Shadow Moon - an occasion that threatens the good people of Malaz with demon hounds and other, darker things.

It is also prophesied that the Emperor Kellanved will return this night, and there are many who would prevent that happening at any cost. As factions within the Empire draw up battle lines, an ancient presence begins its all-out assault upon the island. Witnesses to these cataclysmic events include a thief called Kiska, and Temper, a war-weary veteran.

Although they do not know it, they each have a part to play in a confrontation that will determine not only the fate of Malaz City but also of the world beyond...

Genre

Epic fantasy / heroic fantasy, Adventure fiction, War, combat & military fiction, Historical fantasy, Folklore, myths & legends, Tribal religions

Listen to a sample

Night of Knives marks the first instalment of the shared world that we both had envisioned.