God of Vengeance
Giles Kristian

Book cover image

Narrated By: Philip Stevens

Duration: 15 hours and 30 minutes

What to expect

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga of honour, courage, blood feud and revenge from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones.

"Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork." - Conn Iggulden
"Action-packed storytelling which stirs the blood and thrills the soul" - Wilbur Smith
"Easily one of the best books I've had the pleasure to read" - ***** Reader review.

*******************************************************************************
IT BEGAN WITH THE BETRAYAL OF A LORD BY A KING...

Norway 785 AD
. When King Gorm puts Jarl Harald's family to the sword, he makes one fatal mistake - he fails to kill Harald's youngest son, Sigurd.

His kin slain, his village seized, his taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him. Hunted by powerful men, he is unsure who to trust and yet he has a small band of loyal followers at his side. With them - and with the help of the All-Father, Odin - he determines to make a king pay for his treachery.

Using cunning and war-craft, Sigurd gathers together a fellowship of warriors - including his father's right-hand man Olaf, Bram (who men call Bear), Black Floki who wields death with a blade, and the shield maiden Valgerd, who fears no man - and convinces them to follow him.

For, whether Ódin is with him or not, Sigurd WILL have vengeance. And neither men nor gods had best stand in his way . . .

Sigurd's story continues in Winter's Fire.

Genre

Historical fiction, Sagas & epics, Generational sagas, Historical adventure fiction, War, combat & military fiction

Listen to a sample

Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork.

CONN IGGULDEN

What elevates Kristian above the many pretenders to Cornwell's crown is the style and swagger of the prose. He is a modern skald, borrowing the old rhythms to create a brutal, absorbing tale

THE TIMES 'Books of the Year'

Action-packed storytelling which stirs the blood and thrills the soul

WILBUR SMITH

This is the best kind of storytelling – a saga full of blood and thunder that grabs you and doesn’t let go until long after the final page is turned

STEVEN PRESSFIELD

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga, rich with the poetry of the skald, ripe with blood and glory, vengeance and heartbreak. The characters stride from the page, alive, hungry, real . . . this is Viking writing at its very best