Confectioner's Tale
Laura Madeleine

Book cover image

Narrated By: Julie Teal

Duration: 8 hours and 42 minutes

What to expect

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

'Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read' Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Girl under the Olive Tree

Take a moment to savour a bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

Genre

Historical romance, Contemporary romance

Listen to a sample

Delightful and delicious: a must read

Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

Sizzling forbidden love story set in 1900s Paris . . . four stars

Heat

Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read

Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard

A heady mix of passion and betrayal set against the stunning backdrops of 1909 Paris and 1980s Cambridge.