I'm Travelling Alone
Samuel Bjork

Book cover image

Narrated By: Laura Paton

Duration: 14 hours and 45 minutes

What to expect

When a six-year-old girl is found dead, hanging from a tree, the only clue the Oslo Police have to work with is an airline tag around her neck. It reads ‘I’m travelling alone’.


Holger Munch, veteran police investigator, is immediately charged with re-assembling his homicide unit. But to complete the team, he must convince his erstwhile partner, Mia Krüger – a brilliant but troubled investigator – to return from the solitary island where she has retreated with plans to take her own life.


Reviewing the evidence, Mia identifies something no one else has noticed – a thin line carved into the dead girl’s fingernail: the number 1. Instinctively, she knows that this is only the beginning. To save other children from the same fate, she must find a way to cast aside her own demons and confront the most terrifying, cold-hearted serial killer of her career…

Genre

Crime & mystery fiction, Fiction in translation

Listen to a sample

Tense, thrilling and genuinely scary *****

Heat

Terrific . . . Intelligent and gripping . . . May well propel [Bjork] to deserved international fame

The Times

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series and Danish crime drama The Bridge

Crime Scene

A compelling novel, with plenty of intrigue and some splendid action sequences

Guardian

Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’m Travelling Alone is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare