Black Reckoning
John Stephens

Book cover image

Narrated By: Jim Dale

Duration: 13 hours and 6 minutes

What to expect

The final instalment in the Books of Beginning series.

Emma, Michael and Kate are locked in a race against time: to find their parents; to defeat the evil Dire Magnus; and to locate the final Book of Beginning. When all three books are united, their power will be unstoppable.

Embarking on a perilous journey to the land of the dead, Emma is forced to confront terrifying monsters and ghosts. As the fabric of time begins to fray, she becomes the final piece of an extraordinary puzzle.

Only she can master the Book of Death.


Children's / Teenage fiction: Fantasy, Children's / Teenage fiction: Action and adventure stories

Listen to a sample

This fantasy trilogy closes with both satisfying finality and the realistic, requisite heartbreak that comes with saying goodbye.

Kirkus Reviews

Heartbreaking sacrifices, joyous reunions, and poignant partings round out this rousing old-school fantasy adventure