No Peace For The Wicked
Pip Granger

Book cover image

Narrated By: Maggie Mash

Duration: 11 hours and 55 minutes

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell, a feel-good, uplifting and funny saga set in post war London from Sunday Times bestseller Pip Granger.

"A colourful, deeply nostalgic evocation of Soho in the Fifties, drawing heavily on the author's own childhood." -- CHOICE


"She brings the East End to life" -- BARBARA WINDSOR


"Lovely book - enjoyed it immensely. Very funny and very accurate of London in the 1950s." -- ***** Reader review


"A brilliant, amusing, unputdownable book." -- ***** Reader review

**********************************************

THE WAR MAY BE LONG OVER BUT LIFE IN SOHO IS ANYTHING BUT CALM...

1956
: Lizzy is working in Soho when Peace, the daughter of her employer Bandy Bunion's estranged sister, comes to stay. Peace is a beautiful sixteen-year-old part-Chinese girl who has run away from boarding school and who has no intention of going back.

Having lost her own daughter - Rosie's best friend - to leukaemia two years previously, she feels a special bond with Peace.

She also feels that life has been rather quiet recently; but things are about to change dramatically...

When Peace goes missing a second time, and no one knows where she's gone, it looks as though there's only one thing to do. Lizzy asks TC - her new man and a policeman - to help her find Peace, and the first place they must visit is the dock area in Limehouse...

No Peace for the Wicked paints a picture of 1950s Soho so authentic you feel as though you are there...

Genre

Family life fiction, Historical fiction, Humorous fiction, Generational sagas, Second World War fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction, Narrative theme: Love & relationships, Narrative theme: Sense of place

Listen to a sample