Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)
Douglas Jackson

Book cover image

Narrated By: Cornelius Garrett

Duration: 11 hours and 15 minutes

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, this heart-stopping historical thriller from bestselling author Douglas Jackson will have you on the edge of your seat!

"Rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today" -- DAILY EXPRESS


Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!

"This was probably the best book that I have read of this genre." - 5 STARS.
"As good as Scarrow, Riches or Scott." - 5 STARS.
"Valerius is quite addictive..." - 5 STARS .

**************************************************************

AD 59: Rome's grip on Britain is weakening. Roman cruelty and exploitation has angered their British subjects; the Druids are on the rise; the warrior queen Boudicca will lead the tribes to war.

The Roman Tribune, Gaius Valerius Verrens must lead the veteran legions at Colonia in a last stand against the rising tide of rebellion and the unstoppable horde of Boudicca's rebel army.

Can he defend his honour and the Empire he represents?

Hero of Rome is the first in Douglas Jackson's
Gaius Valerius Verrens series. His story continues in Defender of Rome.

Genre

Historical adventure fiction, Historical fiction, War, combat & military fiction, Narrative theme: Politics, European history: the Romans

Listen to a sample

A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today

Daily Express

A splendid piece of storytelling and a vivid recreation of a long-dead-world

Allan Massie

If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block