Caligula
Douglas Jackson

Book cover image

Narrated By: Russell Boulter

Duration: 11 hours and 19 minutes

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow, a riveting thriller set in Ancient Rome from bestselling author Douglas Jackson.

"...gripping Roman thriller. It's certainly well placed to take on the Simon Scarrow/Conn Iggulden audience." -- Scotland on Sunday

"Fantastic read..." - ***** Reader review.

******************************************************************


CAN A SLAVE DECIDE THE FATE OF AN EMPEROR?


Ancient Rome
. Caligula is Emperor, his reign marked by excess, ambition, decadence, cruelty, madness, sexual scandal and death.

Rufus is a young slave living a world away from the Imperial court - apprentice to an animal trainer for the gladiatorial arena and friend to Cupido, one of Rome's greatest gladiators.

When Rufus's skills come to the attention of Caligula, he is summoned to court to serve as keeper for the Imperial elephant - and unwittingly finds himself at the centre of a conspiracy to assassinate the Emperor...

Rufus's story continues in Claudius.

Genre

Historical fiction, Historical adventure fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction, Political / legal thriller, Narrative theme: Politics, War, combat & military fiction, Esoteric thriller

Listen to a sample