Chandlers Green
Ruth Hamilton

Book cover image

Narrated By: Marlene Sidway

Duration: 12 hours and 24 minutes

What to expect

This captivating and moving saga full of twists and turns by the Sunday Times bestselling author Ruth Hamilton is perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson and Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

"I believe that Ruth Hamilton is very much the successor to Catherine Cookson. Her books are plot driven, they just rip along; laughs, weeps, love, they've got the lot, and they're quality writing as well" -- SARAH BROADHURST, RADIO FOUR


"Keeps you hooked to the last page" -- ***** Reader review

"A wonderful story" -- ***** Reader review
"Brilliant as always" -- ***** Reader review

**********************************************************

THE PAST AND PRESENT ARE ABOUT TO MEET IN TRAGEDY

The Chandlers
had been making candles in Bolton for five hundred years, and had given their name to the village of Chandlers Green. The dynasty, now in decline and ruled by Richard Chandler, is reduced to an unhappy household and a few tenanted properties.

But Richard continues to behave as though he were lord of the manor. Jean, his wife, is terrified of him; his grown-up children despise him, but fear for their mother if they were to leave home.

And now Richard's arch-enemy, Alf Martindale, is planning to move into his village, and Richard knows that the past is catching up with him fast. A crisis forces him to leave his manor for a while, and he has no way of knowing that Jean is arming herself against his return.

The past and the present are about to come together in a way that can only end in tragedy...

Genre

Narrative theme: Love & relationships, Family life fiction, Generational sagas, Historical fiction, Narrative theme: Interior life, Narrative theme: Coming of age, Nostalgia: general

Listen to a sample

The story is what we have come to expect...Finely drawn characters...slot happily into local history. A panoply of personalities to love and hate, enough twists and turns to do justice to a crateful of eels and an ending to prompt plenty of exclamations of "well I never!"