Home Fires and Spitfires
Daisy Styles

Book cover image

Narrated By: Helen Lloyd

Duration: 10 hours and 9 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

The heartwarming and moving story of three fascinating women finding their strength in World War II, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Call the Midwife and Downton Abbey

It is June 1940, and as the bombs fall, the women at home must dig deep . . .

Tucked on the edge of the Lake District lies Mary Vale, a Mother and Baby Home open to unmarried women and their children. But tensions arise when three very different mums-to-be walk through the doors.

Plucky shipyard worker Gracie must overcome her shame when her lover turns out to be married. Newly engaged Diana's fiancé tragically goes missing in action days before the wedding, while isolated and bedraggled Zelda turns heads when she arrives from the ghettos of Germany.

At Mary Vale, unity is key as the bombs keep falling.

But can these very different women put their differences aside to fight a common foe?

Praise for Daisy Styles

'Will tug at the heart strings of readers everywhere. Wonderful!' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls

'Well done Daisy for creating characters that are real women in the best sense. Funny, scheming, loyal and witty, but about all, hardworking and proud. An absolute joy to read' Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Home Front Girls

'Truly endearing characters' Annie Murray, bestselling author of Now The War Is Over

© Daisy Styles 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Generational sagas, Historical fiction, Historical romance, Second World War fiction

Listen to a sample

This book brought home wonderfully the vivid camaraderie wartime women shared and their immense sacrifices on the Home Front. Well done Daisy for creating characters that are real women in the best sense. Funny, scheming, loyal and witty, but about all, hardworking and proud. An absolute joy to read

Secrets of the Home Front Girls

This is her best yet. I devoured it in one sitting - it's a real page turner that will delight and tug at the heart strings of readers everywhere. Wonderful!

The Liberty Girls

Feisty young women, a country house in wartime and a scheming aristocrat - all ingredients for a cracking story with truly endearing characters

Now The War Is Over

Praise for Daisy Styles