Little Friends
Jane Shemilt

Book cover image

Narrated By: Imogen Church

Duration: 11 hours and 42 minutes

What to expect

The stunning new psychological suspense from the bestselling author of Richard & Judy book club sensation Daughter, brought to you by Penguin.

Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do.
So the parents are forced to get to know each other. But as they get closer, they start to take their eyes off their children.
And while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept in.
Every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true . . .

Narrated by Imogen Church, Little Friends is an electrifying suspense about friendship, family and fear.

'An ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes

'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me

'Compelling literary thriller . . . Seductively vivid. The final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying' Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny

Genre

Psychological thriller, Crime & mystery fiction, Family life fiction

Listen to a sample

Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps. Highly recommended!

Claire Douglas, author of <i>Then She Vanishes</i>

Little Friends is beautifully written. I was in the kitchen; in the garden; on holiday with all the characters. And I was there at the fallout. Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world - but be careful. It might not be what you think...

<i>Sunday Times</i> bestseller Jane Corry

Clever

Sun

A fierce reminder that control is only an illusion

The Book Review Hub

Well-written, taut and tense

Daily Mail

Gripping to the last page

My Weekly

The plot was breathlessly gripping, with an emotional punch that turned the last couple of chapters into a teary blur

Sarah Naughton, author of <i>The Hanged Man Rises</i>

Builds layer upon layer of tension in a novel you won't be able to put down

Tess Gerritsen, bestselling author of <i>I Know a Secret</i>

Praise for Jane Shemilt

-

Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!

Ali Land, bestselling author of <i>Good Me Bad Me</i>

Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending

Mail on Sunday

Countless psychological thrillers get compared to Big Little Lies; Shemilt's is the real deal

People

Taut and thought-provoking

Woman & Home

A dark and twisty tale

Heat

Suspenseful, brooding

Sunday Mirror

Thrilling

Sunday Express

We absolutely loved this

Richard & Judy Book Club

Extremely clever, readable and elegant... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best

#1 eBook bestseller Suzy K Quinn

Little Friends taps into your darkest fears. Beautifully told, with a rich cast of characters, I couldn't put it down

Rachel Blok, author of <i>Under the Ice</i>

A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending

Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of <i>Anatomy of a Scandal</i>

A fantastically clever novel with some wonderful twists

Jo's Book Blog

A compelling, disturbing and beautifully told story. I loved Jane's debut Daughter and adored The Drowning Lesson but Jane has topped them both with Little Friends

Diane Jeffrey, author of <i>He Will Find You</i>

Little Friends is beautifully written and suffused with dread. Jane Shemilt's compelling literary thriller explores with acuity the pressure cooker challenges of adult responsibility, and the assumptions we make. The domestic settings are seductively vivid and the final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying

Gilly Macmillan, author of <i>The Nanny</i>

Surefire suspense [. . .] riveting creepiness