Recovery of Rose Gold
Stephanie Wrobel

Book cover image

Narrated By: Megan Dodds, Jill Winternitz

Duration: 10 hours and 18 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

A chilling exploration into obsession, reconciliation and revenge in 2020's must-read novel.

Rose Gold Watts believed she was sick for eighteen years.

She thought she needed the feeding tube, the surgeries, the wheelchair . . .

Turns out her mum, Patty, is a really good liar.

After five years in prison Patty Watts is finally free. All she wants is to put old grievances behind her, reconcile with her daughter - and care for her new infant grandson. When Rose Gold agrees to have Patty move in, it seems their relationship is truly on the mend.

But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty won't rest until she has her daughter back under her thumb. Which is inconvenient because Rose Gold wants to be free of Patty. Forever.

Only one Watts will get what she wants.

Will it be Patty or Rose Gold?

Mother, or daughter?


© Stephanie Wrobel 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Psychological thriller, Modern and contemporary fiction, Crime and mystery fiction, Romantic suspense, Family life fiction

Listen to a sample

Must read

Hello

Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects

C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man

One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut

Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife

Taut, twisted and with two terrifically toxic narrators, this thriller offers a wonderfully wicked perspective on complicated mother-daughter relationships. Gripping

Psychologies

Pacey and vivid, this is a delicate, merciless probing of a topicas unsettling as it is intriguing, with no pat answers

The Guardian

A blackly comic and original novel with a fascinatingly complex heroine in Rose Gold - you will be both horrified by and rooting for her

Heat

Deliciously sinister. I defy any reader to work out exactly what these two spectacularly unreliable narrators are up to

Reader's Digest

Very rarely does a book like The Recovery of Rose Gold come along . . . this is a book that wastes no time in enticing in a reader and keeping them guessing until the very last page

Culturefly

A gritty story of truth and fantasy

Sainsbury's Magazine

With a genuine menace seeping from every twist and turn, the two central characters inhabit every page with captivating ferocity, and the denouement is worthy of Patricia Highsmith at her finest: quite superb

Daily Mail

Superb! And seriously twisted. This book will play with your mind...then STAY on your mind. Compelling and very, very clever

Teresa Driscoll, bestselling author of I Will Make You Pay.

Striking. Unsettling yet compelling reading

Oxford Times

A rivetingly nasty psychological duel

Sunday Times

An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it

Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs

You'll be hooked on this revenge tale

Crime Monthly

I absolutely devoured it! It's right up my street and I couldn't get enough of Patti and Rose Gold, alternating my opinion of them at the same speed that I was turning the pages! A fabulous read!

Sandie Jones, author of The Other Woman

It's rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious

J P Delaney, bestselling author of The Girl Before

It will make you laugh on one page, exhibiting the darkest of humour, and then make you shudder at the very next

Chat Special

A dark, nerve-jangling read that kept us on the edge of our seats till the very end

Independent

Deliciously icy. Wrobel's cleverly constructed plot twists and turns, undermining any sense of integrity the minute you catch a glimpse of it

Irish News

A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkin's The Girl on the Train, The Recovery of Rose Gold is set to be next year's biggest thriller

Stylist

An original, stunning debut! Masterful crafting of a split time-frame and utterly compelling characters will hook readers from the very first page until they finally learn the truth hiding within this chilling mother-daughter relationship. An intelligent, beguiling read that should be at the top of every reader's list

Wendy Walker

Intelligent. Highly disturbing

Literary Review

Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won't let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch.

Lee Child

I love it. Fascinating, immersive, whip-smart, with a supremely clever ending that left me gasping (and slightly devastated in the best way)

Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings

I inhaled this book. The Recovery of Rose Gold delves so deep into family dysfunction that we are left gasping as the last pages turn. Compelling, intriguing, beautifully written and paced like a roller coaster ride, cancel all your plans when you pick up this terrific book

Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait

Sinister and chilling . . . The writing flows beautifully and I felt like each character was confiding in me, trusting me with their secrets. I loved every bit of this thrilling story and the ending was brilliant and perfect. It's an amazing debut looking at the tangled web of a controlling mother/daughter relationship and a must read in my opinion

NB Magazine

A stunning exploration of love, revenge, and the devastating impact of childhood trauma. It's dark, disturbing and utterly gripping

CrimeSquad

More than a page-turner-although it's undoubtably that - The Recovery of Rose Gold plumbs the depths of this poisoned mother-daughter relationship, asking probing questions about why we all hurt the ones we love. An explosive debut from a thrilling new voice

Kirsten Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take

I haven't come across two more unbalanced characters in books than this mother and daughter

Prima

Wrobel writes a fascinating and thrilling debut that looks deeply into the complicated reasons a mother and daughter can hurt each other. A psychological twister that had me completely captivated until the end

Diane Les Becquets, author of Breaking Wild

Wrobel has crafted two gloriously complex characters who will swing the reader between horrified disbelief and empathy in the turn of a single page. Wrobel uses witty writing and clever plotting to ensure the reader will fly through the pages in search of the truth. It takes profound skill to craft such a twisty and darkly entertaining read, and Wrobel does it in her debut as deftly as only the best thriller writers can do

Amy Stuart, #1 bestselling author of Still Mine and Still Water

Two extraordinary narrators drive the nail-biting action in this sensational, compulsively readable debut. A tour de force of captivating psychological suspense

Gilly Macmillan

Horribly riveting. At times I wanted to, but I could not put it down

Saga Magazine

Wrobel's claustrophobic debut explores the sinister subject of parents who deliberately make their children ill . . . Find out who's manipulating who in this clever chiller

Sunday Express

A blackly comic and original novel with a fascinatingly complex heroine in Rose Gold - you will be both horrified by and rooting for her