Saturdays at Noon
Rachel Marks

Book cover image

Narrated By: Josh Dylan, Stevie Martin, Jacob Marks-Jones

Duration: 10 hours and 41 minutes

What to expect

'Wonderful, compassionate, unpredictable' GRAEME SIMSION, bestselling author of The Rosie Project

'After I finished, I just thought "Yes, this is why I read". To find gems such as this' ***** Reader Review

'I loved this original, at times painful but truly thought-provoking book. A triumph' Sunday Times bestselling author KATIE FFORDE

'There are some moments of magic and some of sadness, but what shines through is love' ***** Reader Review

________

Perfect for fans of The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and Half A World Away by Mike Gayle

Emily just wants to keep the world away.


After getting into trouble yet again, she's agreed to attend anger management classes. But she refuses to share her deepest secrets with a room full of strangers.

Jake just wants to keep his family together.

He'll do anything to save his marriage and bond with his six-year-old son, Alfie. But when he's paired with spiky Emily, he wonders whether opening up will do more harm than good.

The two of them couldn't be more different. Yet when Alfie, who never likes strangers, meets Emily, something extraordinary happens.

Could one small boy change everything?
_________

'I loved this original, at times painful but truly thought-provoking book'
KATIE FFORDE

What readers are saying . . .

'Beautifully written and filled with emotion, I genuinely couldn't recommend Saturdays at Noon enough' ***** NetGalley Reader Review

'This is such a special book . . . the characters jump off the page and pull you immediately into their world' ***** NetGalley Reader Review

'This book was FANTASTIC. When I wasn't reading it I couldn't stop thinking about it'
***** NetGalley Reader Review

'Outstanding. I have goosebumps typing this review . . . The story telling is the best I have read in a long time'
***** NetGalley Reader Review

Longlisted for the Guardian's 'Not The Booker' prize!



© Rachel Marks 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Family life fiction, Contemporary romance, Romance: wholesome, Modern & contemporary fiction, Humorous fiction, Contemporary lifestyle fiction

Listen to a sample

Wonderful . . . compassionate and unpredictable

Graeme Simsion, author of <i>The Rosie Project</i>

It's a beautiful love story, but not the one that you'd expect. Wonderful, hopeful and insightful. This book is an absolute gem and you'll find yourself willing Emily to get her happy ending

Asia Mackay

Clever and engaging read. Heartbreaking and hopeful, this book is a keeper

Woman's Weekly

Sometimes a book comes along and really does make you think... This engaging read is both heart-breaking and full of hope

Woman & Home

A heartbreaking, funny and emotive read

The Sun

I loved this original, at times painful but truly thought-provoking book. A triumph

<i>Sunday Times</i> bestselling author Katie Fforde

Funny, sharp, insightful and completely heart-rending

Beth Morrey, bestselling author of Saving Missy

A sweet tale about second chances. Moving

Heat

Touching, beautifully compassionate and warm; this is a lovely book, sometimes heart-wrenching, sometimes funny. Perfect to curl up with and well worth a read

Dinah Jefferies

Oh how I loved this book [...] complex, imperfect, totally loveable and completely unforgettable

Claire Pooley

Beautifully written. When I decided to read Saturdays at Noon I had no idea that not only would it very likely be one of my books of the year but it would also rock my world. A stunning and perfect read in every way.

NB

Saturdays at Noon is one of those rare books that make you see the world in a different way... This is a satisfying, big-hearted book and a truly accomplished debut for Rachel Marks

WI Life Magazine

An engaging read that shows how people, and children, can be misunderstood