Liberation Square
Gareth Rubin

Book cover image

Narrated By: Nicola Walker, Gareth Rubin

Duration: 10 hours and 22 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Liberation Day written by Gareth Rubin, read by Nicola Walker and Gareth Rubin.

1952. Soviet troops control British streets


After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

When Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice and detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime, she fears what is between them. But when Jane rushes to confront them, she finds herself instead caught up in the glamorous actress's death.

Nick is soon arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.

Genre

Second World War fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction, Dystopian and utopian fiction, Historical adventure fiction, Alternative history fiction, Crime and mystery: police procedural, Crime and mystery: hard-boiled crime, noir fiction, Speculative fiction, Far-right political ideologies and movements, War, combat and military adventure fiction, Second World War

Listen to a sample

In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill

A riveting story of betrayal, corruption and dark secrets, set against the backdrop of a divided Britain

Choice Magazine

A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant.

An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn

Sun

Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart

Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year

A tight and compelling thriller

SFX

Rubin paints a shocking picture of what might have happened had we lost the Second World War and been invaded first by the Nazis and then the Soviet army. It's an edgy ride, a reminder that we should not take our freedom for granted

Peterborough Evening Telegraph

This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world

Sunday Mirror

A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain

Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape

A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read

Gripping alternative history . . . Ingeniously plotted, with storytelling that's full of heart

Daily Telegraph

A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss

Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland

A taut, psychological thriller with a plausible twist, Rubin's debut novel does not disappoint . . . an extraordinary but believable tale of corruption, power play and black-market racketeering . . . Well researched and imaginative, Rubin's alternative history novel creates an eerie landscape full of menace . . . Writing with panache and creative flair, Rubin breathes credibility into a disturbing 'what if' scenario. Chilling and intriguing in equal measures