Then She Vanishes
Claire Douglas

Book cover image

Narrated By: Sian Thomas, Katie O'Flynn, Nathalie Buscombe

Duration: 11 hours and 6 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Then She Vanishes written by Claire Douglas, read by Sian Thomas, Katie O'Flynn, Nathalie Buscombe and Olivia Dowd.

That summer, the three girls had the world at their feet.
Now, one is missing.
On a summer's night in 1994, sixteen-year-old Flora Powell vanished from her sleepy seaside town. She left no trace - only heartache for her mother and her sister, Heather.
And one is a murderer.
Twenty-five years later, Heather walks into a stranger's house. There, the loving wife and doting new mother kills two people in cold blood.
So only one remains . . .
Jess is sent to report on the case that shocked the hometown she left behind. But it's anything but business to her. She was like a sister to the Powell girls, until the summer that tore them all apart.
Can Jess find the key to both their mysteries? Or will her search reveal a darker side to the place she grew up - and put her in danger?

'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas' Tim Weaver, bestselling author of No One Home

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Psychological thriller, Thriller / suspense fiction, Crime & mystery: women sleuths, Crime & mystery fiction, Family life fiction

Listen to a sample

Amazing. A twisty whydunnit that I finished in just two days. Smart, gripping and atmospheric, readers will love Then She Vanishes'

Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of Everything But The Truth

The Hot List

Inside Soap

An addictive read that will leave you on the edge of your seat

Sun

A page-turning slow burn

bestselling author of Close to Home

Compulsive new thriller . . . Douglas races to a tightly-plotted conclusion

Woman's Weekly

Combines shocking twists effortlessly with sensitive explorations of family dynamics

bestselling author of Anything You Do Say

Will give you chills

Sunday Mirror

So twisty, turning and grippy

bestselling author of What She Knew

Kept me up last night. Scary. Twisty. All too believable

bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

Absorbing and chilling

bestselling author of Girl Unknown

Praise for Claire Douglas

-

A gripping page turner

Jane Fallon, bestselling author of Faking Friends

Kept me guessing right up to the thrilling finale

bestselling author of One Little Mistake

Dark, clever and compelling. A brilliant book!

Nicola Moriarty, author of The Ex

The story races to a tightly-plotted and genuinely surprising end

Woman's Own

Unforgettably dark and complex

Woman & Home

A fab and twisty page-turner

bestselling author of Last Seen

Cements Claire's reputation as one of the best writers of psychological suspense out there. I loved this dark, twisty tale and sped through it in one sitting.

C J Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas

Tim Weaver, bestselling author of No One Home

Will have you tearing through the pages

bestselling author of The Mistake I Made

It's impossible to guess the shocking ending

Saga

Thrillingly tense and twisty

bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

Stunning . . . with a killer twist

Closer

Superb plotting. I could hardly catch my breath between twists

bestselling author of Before I Let You In

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train

Marie Claire

As soon as I finished the first page, I knew I wouldn't be able to put this down

Good Housekeeping

Lifts the stone on a cold case disappearance and asks chilling questions about friendship, loyalty, love and obsession. It's twisty, tense and brimming with atmosphere. I raced to the end

Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny

Huge praise for Claire Douglas. If you are a fan of drama and suspense - and seeking to satisfy your inner detective - look no further