Confessions of a Five-Chambered Heart
Caitlín R. Kiernan

Book cover image

Narrated By: Jayme Mattler, Suzanne Toren, Lauren Ezzo, Bronson Pinchot, Lisa Flanagan, Robert Fass, Lorna Bennett, Gabra Zackman, Kevin Kenerly, various narrators

Duration: 13 hours and 32 minutes

What to expect

Confessions of a Five-Chambered Heart is the follow-up to Caitlín R. Kiernan’s World Fantasy Award–nominated The Ammonite Violin & Others, a collection that drew comparisons to the writings of such luminaries of the macabre and surreal as Angela Carter, Thomas Ligotti, Shirley Jackson, and Harlan Ellison.

Here, again, in her eighth collection, we visit the borderlands where the weird, horrific, mythic, and erotic intersect. Once again, Kiernan sets her masterful, intoxicating prose to the task of retelling fairy tales, spinning sensual post-Lovecraftian yarns, and blurring the lines between pain and pleasure.

Here is a celebration of the bizarre and beautiful and a marriage of unlikely worlds. From a reverence of the dead to the sacrifices the living make to unspeakable gods, from clockwork dreams to tales of merciless revenge, Kiernan blurs the artificial lines of genre and shows us a world where there is no division between the light and dark.


Short stories, Science fiction, Anthologies: general

Listen to a sample