She's the Worst
Lauren Spieller

Book cover image

Narrated By: Katie Schorr, Jesse Vilinsky

Duration: 7 hours and 7 minutes

What to expect

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off meets 10 Things I Hate About You in this fun, contemporary novel about two sisters who have twenty-four hours to fulfill a pact and overcome the secret that threatens to tear them apart.

Sisters April and Jenn haven’t been close in years. Jenn’s too busy with school, the family antique shop, and her boyfriend, and April would rather play soccer and hang out with the boy next door.

But when April notices her older sister is sad about staying home for college, she decides to do something about it. The girls set off to revive a pact they made as kids: spend an epic day exploring the greatest hits of their childhood and all that Los Angeles has to offer.

Then April learns that Jenn has been keeping a secret that could rip their family—and their feuding parents—apart. With only one day to set things right, the sisters must decide if their relationship is worth saving, or if the truth will tear them apart for good.

Genre

Children’s / Teenage fiction: General fiction, Children’s / Teenage fiction: Family and home stories, Children’s / Teenage personal and social topics: siblings, Children’s / Teenage fiction: General fiction, Children’s / Teenage personal and social topics: Dating, relationships, romance and love

Listen to a sample

“A sparkling homage to LA and a love letter to the difficult, mercurial, rewarding relationship between sisters.”

Booklist

“A vibrant and heartfelt story that effortlessly captures sisterhood, first love, and coming-of-age. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, She’s the Worst is just the best.”

Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous

“We loved every minute and mile of Jenn and April’s joyous and heartrending journey.”

Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, coauthors of If I'm Being Honest

“Part sister story, part romantic comedy—I devoured this love letter to summer, sisterhood, and Los Angeles.”

Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone

“Spieller builds narrative tension through the tight time framework, using it to layer emotion into relationships, including the sisters’ romantic entanglements. For readers looking for a solidly constructed family drama, April and Jenn’s story is sure to satisfy.”