Damage Done
James Oswald

Book cover image

Narrated By: Ian Hanmore

Duration: 12 hours and 8 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable, audiobook edition of The Damage Done by James Oswald, read by Ian Hanmore.

The sixth book in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector McLean series set in Edinburgh.

No good deed goes unpunished...

When a police raid in Edinburgh goes horribly wrong, the only silver lining for Inspector Tony McLean is a discovery that could lead to a long-lost girl from his early days on the beat.

Haunted by the mystery of what happened to her, McLean begins to dig into a case he thought long buried.

But the shadows of the past are soon eclipsed by crimes in the present as a series of strange and gruesome deaths shock the city.

As McLean's investigation draws him ever deeper into the upper echelons of Edinburgh society, it will not only be his career on the line - but his life as well...

Praise for James Oswald

'The new Ian Rankin'
Daily Record

'Oswald's writing is in a class above'

'Creepy gritty and gruesome'
Sunday Mirror


Crime & mystery fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction

Listen to a sample

Fifty Shades of Hay

The Times

Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers

Daily Mail

Creepy, gritty and gruesome

Sunday Mirror

Hugely enjoyable

The Mirror

Crime fiction's next big thing

The Sunday Telegraph

The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish

The Herald

The new Ian Rankin

Daily Record

Literary sensation . . . James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of E L James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series

Daily Mail

Oswald's writing is in a class above most in this genre