Wars of the Roses: Stormbird
Conn Iggulden

Book cover image

Narrated By: Roy McMillan

Duration: 13 hours and 45 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

The epic first instalment in the thrilling War of the Roses series, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, Bernard Cornwell and Wolf Hall.

King Henry V - the great Lion of England - is dead.

It's up to his son to take the throne, but frail in body and mind, he is dependent on his supporters to run his kingdom.

Richard, Duke of York, believes that without a strong king England will fall.

And as the threat from France grows, and rebellion on home soil spreads, his fears seem justified.

Who can save the throne?

Who will defend the kingdom?

© Conn Iggulden 2013 (P) Penguin Audio 2013

Genre

Historical fiction, War, combat and military adventure fiction

Listen to a sample

Pacey and juicy, and packed with action

Sunday Times

Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience

Independent

A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period

Daily Express

Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction

Daily Mirror

Superbly plotted and paced

The Times

Conn breathes new life into the darkest and most dramatic of times, with a flair for both the huge scale and human interest of it all

Star

Exceptionally well-written and gripping

Stylist

Compelling reading

Woman & Home

A benchmark for historical fiction, showcasing Conn Iggulden at his finest

Parmenion Books blog

Full of period detail, the narrative weaves a glittering thread through the complex, political chaos of the time. It's been said that Game of Thrones is the Wars of the Roses written as fantasy: this is the real thing, more glorious, more passionate, far, far more gritty