Notes from Walnut Tree Farm
Roger Deakin

Book cover image

Narrated By: Roy McMillan

Duration: 7 hours and 57 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest
, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog, Roger Deakin.

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakinkept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world.

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills readers with a desire to explore the world around them.

'Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic' Spectator

'A lovely book that is a poignant epitaph to a remarkable individual' Amazon Review


'A secular saint' The Times

'Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable . . . to be read and reread and treasured' Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

'Very funny, sharp-eyed. To look at the world through Deakin's eyes was to see somewhere that was more wonderful than it often appears' Sunday Telegraph

'Thoughtful and invigorating, full of humour, timeless . . . will take its place among the classics of Nature diaries . . . to be read alongside Frances Kilvert, Gilbert White, and Dorothy Wordsworth' Mail on Sunday


'So busy and bustling with life'
Observer

© Roger Deakin 2008 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Genre

Memoirs, The countryside, country life: general interest

Listen to a sample