Ivy and Abe
Elizabeth Enfield

Book cover image

Narrated By: Cassidy Janson

Duration: 9 hours and 12 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Ivy and Abe by Elizabeth Enfield, read by Cassidy Janson.

Meet Ivy and Abe.

Childhood friends in the 1960s, Ivy and Abe were inseparable until a chance event tore them apart. Now in their early seventies, fate once again brings them together - both grey-haired, Ivy hand in hand with her grandson - to fill in the gaps of one another's lives. Each has experienced great passions as well as heart-breaking tragedies, but the time is finally right for them. Their love story seems, in the end, meant to be.

But what if, in a parallel universe, chance had intervened and they'd met sooner? What if they'd met in their forties, both married to other people, and began an affair? What if they'd met before then and married, but the daunting question mark over Ivy's health had suffocated Abe's love for her? What if, as lovestruck teenagers, one small moment had sealed their fate?

Ivy and Abe is a stunning novel about the different paths our lives might follow, and the different people we might become along the way.

'An epic love story' Araminta Hall, bestselling author of Everything and Nothing

'Beautiful, uplifting and wise. I surfaced from the last page, feeling as comforted as I was moved' Alison Macleod, Man Booker longlisted author of Unexploded

'Beautifully crafted, original and full of insight into the human experience' Suzanne O'Sullivan, author of Wellcome Book Prize winner It's All in Your Head

'A beautiful story that explores what it is to have a soul mate, and love in all its many guises. It made me cry a lot - in a good way! - but it also made me think, as all the best books do' Veronica Henry, author of A Night on the Orient Express

'A beautiful, intricately woven book . . . Bittersweet and wonderfully observed, Elizabeth Enfield's writing moves you, makes you smile in recognition and makes you think' Kate Harrison, author of The Boot Camp

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Contemporary romance, Magical realism, Romance: wholesome, Family life fiction, Narrative theme: Love & relationships, Alternative history fiction

Listen to a sample

Explores beautifully the way in which so-called ordinary lives play out

Sue Purkiss

If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read

Take a Break

If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read

Take a Break

An epic love story

author of Everything and Nothing

Perfectly pitched, thought-provoking and nuanced

Sarah Rayner, author of 'Making Friends'

Beautiful, uplifting and wise. I surfaced from the last page, feeling as comforted as I was moved

author of Unexploded

Full of insight into the human experience

author of It's All in Your Head

Gorgeous and clever

The Queen of Bloody Everything

A beautiful story that explores what it is to have a soul mate. It made me cry a lot - in a good way! - but it also made me think, as all the best books do

author of A Night on The Orient Express

If you liked Jojo Moyes' Me Before You this is the perfect new read for you . . . a story for anyone who has ever wondered what if . . . ?

Woman's Weekly

The same pair of lovers find and lose each other through the decades . . . a novel full of emotional truth

Daily Mail

A moving and thought-provoking novel in the tradition of Sliding Doors and The Versions of Us. One for anyone who's ever wondered if things might have turned out differently

Alison Mercer

Ivy and Abe are impossible to forget even after you've closed the book. Beautiful and wonderfully observed

Kate Harrison

Think Sliding Doors meets One Day. Follow two childhood friends through the lives they could have had together and wonder if there's a right person for everyone or just a right time