Day of the Accident
Nuala Ellwood

Book cover image

Narrated By: Tara Fitzgerald

Duration: 9 hours and 3 minutes

What to expect

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Day of the Accident by Nuala Ellwood, read by Tara Fitzgerald.

'Gripping, poignant...I read it in one sitting' ROSAMUND LUPTON

'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist!' CLAIRE DOUGLAS

'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH

Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart.

The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing.

When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral.

What really happened that day at the river?
Where is Maggie's husband?
And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive?

A page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go and Lisa Jewell's Watching You, this gripping story will draw you in and shock you at every turn.

WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING:

'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry

'You will be up all night finishing this dark, haunting and complex thriller' Katherine S, Netgalley Reviewer

'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' Sharon Bolton

'Nuala Ellwood has such a special way of writing that it draws you into the pages and you can't put it down' Emma L, Netgalley Reviewer

'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama

'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle

'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor

'A must read for all thriller fans this book is a 5 star read' River S, Netgalley Reviewer

'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian

'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland, author of Need to Know

'This clever, multi- layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies

'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' Angela G, Netgalley Reviewer

'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent

'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins

'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen

Memorable, jaw-dropping' Sunday Times

'Well-written ... an elegant, punchy thriller with a dark heart' Observer Thriller of the Month

'Full of really clever twists, this stylish thriller really grabs you' Sunday Mirror

Genre

Psychological thriller, Crime & mystery: hard-boiled crime, noir fiction, Narrative theme: Death, grief, loss, Thriller / suspense fiction, Family life fiction

Listen to a sample

Absolutely brilliant - exciting, clever, it deserves to be a bestseller

Priscilla Masters

Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end

Karen Cleveland, author of 'Need to Know'

Gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn

Rowan Coleman

Memorable, jaw-dropping

Sunday Times

Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page

Sharon Bolton

Grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go

Woman and Home

A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end

Nicolas Obregon, author of 'Blue Light Yokohama'

You won't see the big twist coming in this haunting thriller. A worthy successor to My Sister's Bones

Daily Express

A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful

C. L. Taylor

A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!

Jane Corry

This book will take all your expectations and upend them, making you question everything you thought you knew

Emma Kavanagh

The Day of the Accident had me gasping for breath and on the verge of tears from the get-go. Twisty, haunting, and completely heart-wrenching, you won't breathe until you've turned the very last page.