Crossfire
Malorie Blackman

Book cover image

Narrated By: Vivienne Acheampong, Rebecca Lee, Josh Dylan, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett

Duration: 8 hours and 56 minutes

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly.

Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy

'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah

'Blackman "gets" people . . . she "gets" humanity as a whole, too' Guardian

'Powerful' Sunday Times

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly.

Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy

'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah

'Blackman "gets" people . . . she "gets" humanity as a whole, too' Guardian

'Powerful' Sunday Times

Genre

Children's / Teenage fiction: Relationship stories – Romance, love or friendship, Children's / Teenage personal and social topics: Racism, Children's / Teenage personal and social topics: Families and family members, Alternative history fiction

Listen to a sample

Crossfire is searing, political and furious. Malorie's world building is sublime and the way the Noughts & Crosses series holds a mirror up to society is unrivalled

Juno Dawson, author of Clean and Meat Market

Rich in moral and social issues, it is devastating about racial attitudes

The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week

[Malorie Blackman] is a supremely suspenseful writer . . . [a] nail-biting drama

Daily Telegraph

Blackman is great at explosive love-hate relationships . . . [and] also has a talent for producing relatable characters, gutsy dialogue and page-turning action. Crossfire is a cracking story that fans of the series will love.

Guardian

The fast-paced drama will resonate with internet-era teens - and there's more to come

Daily Mail

The cliffhanger ending will leave fans desperately awaiting the next instalment

Mail on Sunday - 'Must-Read Books of the Year'

It chillingly echoes the tempestuous taste of the world today while offering the intensity of a thriller

i newspaper

Once again, in her latest book Crossfire, Blackman captures the uncomfortably familiar zeitgeist

Stylist.co.uk

Ingeniously flips the race issue . . . it's a brilliant inversion, with myriad tiny details that constantly illuminate the grinding effect of blind prejudice

Financial Times

This tense tale is about love, friendship, sex, power and corruption . . . Rich in moral and social issues

Sunday Times Ireland

If you are a fan of YA novels, and grew up reading Malorie Blackman, her new book Crossfire is sure to incite some nostalgia