Raft of Stars
Andrew J. Graff, Read by Lincoln Hoppe

Book cover image

Narrated By: Lincoln Hoppe

Duration: 11 hours and 45 minutes

What to expect

The further you run the closer you get to the truth…

An instant classic for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and We Begin at the End!

’One of the finest debut novels to emerge so far in 2021’ Sunday Post

One summer night in Wisconsin, the lives of two ten-year-old boys are changed forever…

Tired of seeing his best friend Dale Breadwin abused by his alcoholic father, Fischer Branson takes action. A gunshot rings out, and Bread and Fish flee into the woods. They build a raft, but the river quickly leads them into even greater danger.

In their wake travel a group of adults – each determined to save the boys from the terrors of Ironsford Gorge.

The further they go, the more the wilderness starts to change them in profound and unexpected ways. And when they reach the edge of the Gorge itself, they begin to understand the true violence and beauty of the natural world, and its ability to heal.

No matter where you run danger will always follow…

Genre

Thriller / suspense fiction, Crime & mystery fiction, Adventure fiction, Narrative theme: Coming of age

Listen to a sample

‘One of the finest debut novels to emerge so far in 2021’ Sunday Post

‘A poignant coming-of-age adventure’ Candis

‘Absolutely wonderful. Beautifully written, characters that will stay with me and a descriptive prose that was just a feast for the senses. It really took me away, and I didn’t want it to end’ Jo Spain

‘A powerful, gripping, coming-of-age novel about friendship, parenting, violence and beauty. I think book clubs will love it’
Platinum, Book of the Month

‘An engrossing, large-hearted debut novel’ New York Times

‘Graff writes exquisitely about the wilderness … A gripping adventure tale’ Washington Post

“A crime debut of backwoods poetry and wonder, a deft reimagining of Huck Finn boyhood, and a powerful tale of heartbreak and redemption in the American wilds. Raft of Stars is a fine novel by any measure and Andrew Graff is a writer with talent to burn” Chris Ewan

‘A rugged outdoors adventure with a warm heart, intense thrills and some genuinely beautiful writing’ Paul Finch

‘The best book I’ve read all year! Raft of Stars made me laugh, made me cry, gave me heart palpitations – it was BLOODY BRILLIANT! The characters leap from the page into your heart!’ Anita Frank

‘This a book for our times and in it lies a truth about man, nature and the strength of love. What a writer – I take my hat off to him’ Sally Gardner

‘A coming of age tale that any adult who has ever felt a little lost can identify with. I was absolutely transported to the wild woods of Wisconsin. A beautiful book that will stay with me’ Louise Hare

‘A beautiful book. A truly magical story with characters you really root for’ Neil Lancaster

‘Replete with poetry, epic outdoors adventure and the mysteries of friendship … a moving ode to the innocence of childhood and the majesty of nature’ Tim Baker

‘A rousing adventure yarn full of danger and heart and humor and characters worth worrying about’ Richard Russo

‘Characters for readers to fall in love with’ J. Ryan Stradal