Very Nearly Normal
Hannah Sunderland, Read by Faye Marsay

Book cover image

Narrated By: Faye Marsay

Duration: 10 hours and 32 minutes

What to expect

‘Delightfully romantic’ ISABELLE BROOM
‘A compelling, quirky love story’ MIRANDA DICKINSON
‘An unconventional romance – real and raw’ ANNA BELL

Effie’s not perfect. Neither is Theo. But together, they’re pretty close.
 
Matilda ‘Effie’ Heaton has always felt like she’s swimming against the tide. Everyone around her has life sorted, but Effie’s living with her parents and crying into a wine bottle at night. The only thing she loves is her job at a bookshop, where she can lose herself in other people’s stories.
 
But then she meets Theo, who knows only too well that life isn’t something to take for granted.
 
Because Theo has a life-changing secret, and as Effie starts to realise that she’s falling in love instead of falling apart, fate steps in and deals her a new hand. And this time, the stakes are high.

A gorgeous, heart-breaking read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Gail Honeyman. If you love this, don’t miss Hannah Sunderland’s new book, At First Sight.

What readers are saying about Very Nearly Normal

‘I haven’t been able to put it down …a rollercoaster of emotions’ ***** Reader Review

‘I loved it from page one and every page after that I loved it more’ ***** Reader Review

Made me laugh and smile, but also cry for the real struggles Effie and Theo faced’ ***** Reader Review

Life-affirming, funny and relatable. A twist I didn’t see coming’ ***** Reader Review

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Contemporary romance

Listen to a sample

‘A compelling, quirky love story that feels fresh and revelant, told with huge warmth and heart from start to finish. I loved it!’ Miranda Dickinson, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Day We Meet Again

Very Nearly Normal is a love story with a difference: dark and at times painfully astute, uplifting and unusual.’ Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The Truth

'A delightfully romantic and endlessly enjoyable love story.’ Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning

‘Beautiful – I am a tiny bit broken.’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

’An unconventional romance that’s real and raw – I struggled to put it down.’ Anna Bell

‘A corker of a debut! I loved Effie. Her flaws made her a great character. A 2020 reading highlight! 5 stars!’ Catherine Miller, author of The Day That Changed Everything