Sister’s Song
Molly Green, Read by Sophie Bentinck

Book cover image

Narrated By: Sophie Bentinck

Duration: 13 hours and 35 minutes

What to expect

Her duty is to keep smiling through…

When World War II breaks out, Suzanne’s dream of attending the Royal Academy of Music crumbles.

Determined to do her bit, she joins a swing band that entertains troops in some of the worst-hit cities of Europe.

Through singing, Suzanne finds a confidence she never knew she had, and she soon wins the admiration of Britain’s brave servicemen.

But her heart already belongs to a Navy officer who is serving out at sea. The question is… will they meet again?

A gripping tale of love, courage and camaraderie, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Donna Douglas and Vera Lynn.

Genre

Generational sagas, Historical fiction

Listen to a sample

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

‘Molly Green creates realistic characters and situations that keep you turning the pages.’ Katie Fforde

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love.’ Kitty Neale

‘Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.’ Terri Fleming

‘A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction … There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring AN ORPHAN’S WAR is an engaging, generous read.’ Liz Robinson, LoveReading

‘A gripping read’ My Weekly

‘Meticulously researched and brings into focus the sterling work of the women of the ATA … An engrossing story, with a strong, likeable female protagonist facing issues we still face today.’ Historical Novel Society Magazine

‘Memorable characters, a well written, plausible plot and very good descriptions of the time and place. The scenes and details of Dr Barnardo’s are especially interesting as the plight of orphans is rarely considered when we think of World War Two … We often forget the ordinary people surviving day-to-day ‘back home’.’ Discovering Diamonds Blog