Sister’s Courage
Molly Green, Read by Sophie Bentinck

Book cover image

Narrated By: Sophie Bentinck

Duration: 14 hours and 13 minutes

What to expect

‘Meticulously researched and brings into focus the sterling work of the women of the ATA … An engrossing story, with a strong, likeable female protagonist facing issues we still face today.’ Historical Novel Society magazine

In the midst of war, she knew her place was not at home…

The most ambitious of three sisters, Lorraine ‘Raine’ Linfoot always dreamed of becoming a pilot. As a spirited seventeen-year-old, she persuades her hero Doug Williams to teach her to fly.
 
When war breaks out in 1939, Raine is determined to put her skills to good use. She enlists in the Air Transport Auxiliary, becoming one of a handful of brave female pilots flying fighter planes to the men on the front line.
 
Raine embraces the challenges of the job, despite its perils. But when Doug is reported missing after his Spitfire is shot down, she realises the war could tear apart not only her country, but also her heart…
 
A gripping story of family, friendship and courage, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas, Nancy Revell and Call the Midwife.

Genre

Generational sagas, Historical fiction

Listen to a sample

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

‘Molly Green creates realistic characters and situations that keep you turning the pages.’ Katie Fforde

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love.’ Kitty Neale

‘Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.’ Terri Fleming

‘A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction … There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring AN ORPHAN’S WAR is an engaging, generous read.’ Liz Robinson, LoveReading

‘A gripping read’ My Weekly

‘Meticulously researched and brings into focus the sterling work of the women of the ATA … An engrossing story, with a strong, likeable female protagonist facing issues we still face today.’ Historical Novel Society Magazine

‘Memorable characters, a well written, plausible plot and very good descriptions of the time and place. The scenes and details of Dr Barnardo’s are especially interesting as the plight of orphans is rarely considered when we think of World War Two … We often forget the ordinary people surviving day-to-day ‘back home’.’ Discovering Diamonds Blog