Last Romantics
Tara Conklin, Read by Cassandra Campbell

Book cover image

Narrated By: Cassandra Campbell

Duration: 12 hours and 14 minutes

What to expect

The perfect read for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and We Were Liars.

‘A modern epic … A sweeping look at what binds families together’ Glamour

For the Skinners, their lives divide into two parts: before that heady summer – of unsupervised youth and tragedy – and after. But mainly after.

The events of that childhood summer bound the siblings together fiercely, but the consequences would never be erased. For it’s the million little betrayals echoing through the years that threaten to fray their last fragile ties . . .

Spanning five decades, The Last Romantics is a sweeping, compelling portrait of one family – and every family. It is about betrayal, the responsibilities we bear, and how we can lose – and sometimes rescue – the ones we love.

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Generational sagas

Listen to a sample

‘A beautifully written story of four siblings' love for one another across their entire lives… Perfectly paced, affecting fiction’ Booklist

‘Clever’ Publishers Weekly

‘There’s so much love and loss in this book that I read it with a box of tissues, laughing with astonishment through the tears. The kind of book you lose yourself in’ Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters

‘All of the luxuriously spun characters in The Last Romantics, entwined via that impossible web we call family, unfold over their many years with the perfect balance of familiarity and wonder that makes turning their pages such a pleasure’ Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

‘Intensely moving’ Shanina Piyarali, Shelf Awareness

More praise for Tara Conklin:

‘A wise, stirring and assured debut’ Maria Semple, NYT bestselling author of Where’d You Go Bernadette

‘Assured and arresting … You cannot put it down’ Chicago Tribune