Grotlyn
Benji Davies, Read by Peter Capaldi

Book cover image

Narrated By: Peter Capaldi

Duration: 4 minutes

What to expect

A stunning tale of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and GRANDAD’S ISLAND, read by Peter Capaldi.

“I know when the Grotlyn’s been
Slipping through your house unseen…”

What is the mysterious Grotlyn? What sort of creature could it be, scuttling across the town, frightening everyone in its path? And why has it stolen PC Vickers’ knickers?!

A mysterious rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar’s First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2015. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen.

Genre

Picture storybooks

Listen to a sample

‘A gorgeous rhyming picture book with atmospheric illustrations.’ Sunday Express Magazine

Praise for Benji Davies:

“Benji Davies (The Storm Whale and Grandad’s Island) is fast establishing himself as a leading light in children’s picture books” – Huffington Post

“An author-illustrator destined to be one of this generation’s great talents” – Huffington Post

Praise for THE STORM WHALE
“Like the best picture books, “The Storm Whale” has an outsize emotional force that often comes from what the author-illustrator Benji Davies leaves out” – New York Times

Praise for THE STORM WHALE IN WINTER
“Intensely atmospheric, full of biting cold, tender detail and warm light, this is a book to cuddle up with” – The Guardian

Praise for GRANDAD’S ISLAND
“A gently magical story about bidding farewell to a grandparent, Davies’ vibrant palette infuses the story with a hopeful spirit” – Huffington Post

“Benji Davies didn’t invent the melancholy sea story, but he sure knows how to deliver one…’Grandad’s Island’ metaphorically and movingly re-imagines the experience of loss” – Boston Globe