Question Mark is Half a Heart
Sofia Lundberg, Read by Joan Walker

Book cover image

Narrated By: Joan Walker

Duration: 9 hours and 41 minutes

What to expect

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

‘A beautiful tale’ The Sun

‘Such an engrossing and affecting story of love and loss – and the inescapable shadows cast on the present by the past’ Joanna Glen

Elin has the perfect life. A successful photographer, she lives in New York with her husband Sam and their seventeen-year-old daughter, Alice.
But something has always been missing…

When Elin receives a letter from her childhood friend Fredrik on the Swedish island of Gotland, memories come flooding back: of a past she has tried to forget, and a terrible secret she has shared with nobody  - a secret that made her flee the island, and never return.

Torn between past and present and afraid the truth will destroy her family, Elin sets out on a journey to another continent, but also to another time and another life.

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Contemporary romance

Listen to a sample

‘With graceful prose and an artist’s eye, Lundberg returns with a powerful and illuminating novel that navigates the channels of the human heart and the secrets that threaten to tear it apart.  A poetic and haunting read, I was captured from the first page to the last.’ Alyson Richman

‘A beautiful tale’ The Sun

‘Such an engrossing and affecting story of love and loss – and the inescapable shadows cast on the present by the past’ Joanna Glen

‘Lundberg's sophomore work (after The Red Address Book) deftly and sensitively tells Elin's past and present life stories in the ever-popular alternating chapter format. She builds Elin's story slowly, but once the OMG moment hits, readers will turn the pages as if they are burning. For fans of narratives about conflicted and tormented heroines trying to make peace with their pasts’ Library Journal
 
‘Elin is a complex character with a compelling story, and Lundberg avoids the obvious resolutions that readers may expect in favor of a deeper exploration of the meaning of love, forgiveness, and family. This satisfying novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Duffy and Patti Callahan Henry’ Booklist

Praise for The Red Address Book

‘[A] Swedish romance steeped in memory and regret … The Red Address Book is just the sort of easy-reading tale that will inspire readers to pull up a comfy chair to the fire, grab a mug of cocoa and a box of tissues and get hygge with it’ New York Times Book Review

In this tender and heartfelt story, Sofia Lundberg offers a reminder that those we too easily dismiss, such as the elderly, have rich histories and lives that we can learn from … Completely engrossing from start to finish, The Red Address Book is a poignant tale of memory and how those things we carry in our heart work together to create our own life stories’ New York Journal of Books