Unsuitable Woman
Kat Gordon, Read by Richard Jack

Book cover image

Narrated By: Richard Jack

Duration: 10 hours and 15 minutes

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Gill Paul’s The Secret Wife

‘Gloriously dark’ Liza Klaussman
‘Evocative’ i newsaper
‘Seductive’ Anna Hope
‘Rich’ Sunday Times
‘Thrilling’ Emma Chapman

Theo Miller is young, bright and ambitious when he and his earnest younger sister Maud step off the train into the simmering heat of Nairobi. Both eagerly await their new life, yet neither are prepared for the pain it will bring.

When Theo meets American heiress Sylvie de Croÿ, he is welcomed into her inner circle – the Happy Valley set – rich, dazzling expatriates, infamous for their scandalous lifestyles.

Yet behind Sylvie’s intoxicating allure lies a powerful cocktail
of secrets, lust and betrayal. As dark clouds gather over Kenya’s future and his own, Theo must escape this most unsuitable woman – before it is too late.

First published as The Hunters.

Genre

Historical romance, Historical fiction

Listen to a sample

‘A rich reimagining of a colonial Eden in which multitudes of serpents lurked’ Sunday Times

‘Kat Gordon has written a gloriously dark tale, packed with heat and glamour, and shot through with a fine, sharp edge. An absolutely compulsive read from beginning to end’ – LIZA KLAUSSMANN, author of Tigers in Red Weather

‘An evocative coming-of-age tale … Just the thing to read while sipping a cocktail or two’ i newsaper

‘Equally at home evoking the landscapes of east Africa and those of the flawed, capricious human heart … a seductive, troubling journey into Britain’s colonial past’ – ANNA HOPE, author of Wake and The Ballroom

‘An outstanding achievement. This thrilling, evocative novel will transport and absorb you: brilliant’ – EMMA CHAPMAN, author of The Last Photograph