House We Called Home
Jenny Oliver, Read by Emma Powell

Book cover image

Narrated By: Emma Powell

Duration: 10 hours and 16 minutes

What to expect

Irresistible, feel-good fiction from Top 10 bestselling author Jenny Oliver…

***Shortlisted for The Golsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award***

Bestselling author Debbie Johnson says Jenny Oliver writes about ‘love, humour, family and hope – the perfect ingredients for a summer read'.

Escape with Jenny Oliver’s next uplifting read, The Summer We Ran Away, available June 2020!!

The house where Stella and her sister Amy grew up never changes – the red front door, the breath-taking view over the Cornish coast, her parents in their usual spots on the sofa. Except this summer, things feel a little different…

Stella’s father is nowhere to be seen, yet her mother – in suspiciously new Per Una jeans – seems curiously unfazed by his absence, and more eager to talk about her mysterious dog-walking buddy Mitch.

Stella’s sister Amy has returned home with a new boyfriend she can barely stand and a secret to hide, and Stella’s husband Jack has something he wants to get off his chest too. Even Frank Sinatra, the dog, has a guilty air about him.
This summer, change is in the air for the Whitethorns…

Warm, funny and gloriously feel-good, this is the perfect summer read for fans of Veronica Henry and Milly Johnson.

Praise for Jenny Oliver:

‘Love, humour, family and hope – the perfect ingredients for a summer read' Debbie Johnson

‘This book made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read’ Sarah Morgan

‘Brilliantly written, this is packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love… A perfect holiday read’ The Sun

‘Dramatic and fun!’ My Weekly

‘Heartwarming, funny and wonderfully observed, The House We Called Home explores one family's wake-up call with wit and wisdom. Jenny Oliver's characters are so real and relatable they could just walk off the page’ Fiona Harper

‘Jenny Oliver does a brilliant job’ Woman

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction, Contemporary romance

Listen to a sample

Praise for Jenny Oliver:

'Love, humour, family and hope – the perfect ingredients for a summer read' Debbie Johnson

‘Dramatic and fun!’ My Weekly

‘Heartwarming, funny and wonderfully observed, The House We Called Home explores one family's wake-up call with wit and wisdom. Jenny Oliver's characters are so real and relatable they could just walk off the page’ Fiona Harper

‘Brilliantly written, this is packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love… A perfect holiday read’ The Sun

‘This book made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read’ Sarah Morgan

‘Jenny Oliver does a brilliant job’ Woman

Jenny Oliver writes contemporary women's fiction which leaves you with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside’ Books with Bunny

‘Intelligent, delightful and charming! The writing is exquisite’ What’s Better Than Books

‘A very uplifting story full of happy endings and guaranteed to make you smile….’ Goodreads

‘A perfect summer read’ This Price Is Usually Right

'A sprinkling of festivity, a touch of romance and a glorious amount of mouth-watering baking!' Rea Book Review

‘It was everything I enjoy… I couldn’t find a single flaw in the book' Afternoon Bookery

‘Gorgeous descriptions [and] copious amounts of delicious baking that’ll make your mouth water…what more could you ask for?' Bookboodle

‘I didn't want to put the book down until I had reached the very last word on the last page’ A Spoonful of Happy Endings