Would Like to Meet
Polly James, Read by Bea Holland

Book cover image

Narrated By: Bea Holland

Duration: 10 hours and 53 minutes

What to expect

A hilarious, heart-warming read perfect for fans of Shirley Valentine and You’ve Got Mail.

Could the worst thing that’s ever happened to Hannah Pinkman also turn out to be one of the best?

She and her husband Dan have reached the end of the line. Bored with the same gripes, the same old arguments – in fact, bored with everything – they split up after a trivial row turns into something much more serious.

Now Hannah has to make a new life for herself, but that’s not easy. She’s been so busy being a wife and mum that she’s let all her other interests slip away, along with her friends. And when Hannah is persuaded to join a dating site, her ‘best match’ is the very last person she expects it to be . . .

A clever, funny and poignant novel about life after a long relationship, the importance of friendship, and rediscovering your identity.

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction

Listen to a sample

Praise for Polly James:

‘A heart-warming tale - thought-provoking and full of laughs.’ The Sun

‘An emotionally intelligent, funny and sad look at what happens at the end of a long relationship, how difficult it is to adjust to life alone and how important it is to reconnect with friends and rediscover your identity.’
Daily Mail

‘A properly good writer’
India Knight

‘I can’t put it down!’
Marika Cobbold

'A witty, hugely relatable portrayal of the hell that is an unexpected middle-aged break-up… with a wonderfully moving premise at its heart.'
Lorelei Mathias

PRAISE FOR DIARY OF AN UNSMUG MARRIED

‘Having read some of the Adrian Mole diaries I think that the comparison is completely justified and Polly James definitely shares some of the characteristics of Sue Townsend’s brilliant writing… Polly James is definitely a writer to look out for…’
chicklitreviewsandnews.com

‘I liked Molly a lot, she is someone I could share a glass of wine with’
bookdout.wordpress.com

‘Having been a huge Bridget Jones Fan, I thought this was a great look as to what happens on the other side – the married side…’
www.novelkicks.co.uk

‘…A very funny, light-hearted book which will definitely give you a few laughs. Okay, scratch that. Barrels of laughs’
iheart-chicklit.blogspot.co.uk

‘One to pack to read at the side of the pool this summer’
Peter Black, Commissioner of the Welsh Assembly

‘A very funny look at politics from an often-overlooked point of view’
Adrian Masters, Political Editor, ITV Wales

‘I hope there is going to be a sequel!’
fabulousbookfiend.blogspot.co.uk

‘For a frank, honest belly laughing book with a heart. DIARY OF AN UNSMUG MARRIED is absolutely perfect’
www.novelicious.com

‘Have you ever wondered what would have happened to Bridget Jones, if she married the love of her life, Mark Darcy? Settled down, had a couple of kids? Wonder no longer. Read DIARY OF AN UNSMUG MARRIED’
www.chicklitcentral.com

‘Laugh-out-loud funny’
chicklitpad.blogspot.co.uk