Rosie’s War
Kay Brellend, Read by Annie Aldington

Book cover image

Narrated By: Annie Aldington

Duration: 10 hours and 2 minutes

What to expect

A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.

Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She’s had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can’t get along and the strain of coping as a young unmarried mother is getting to her.

As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker. With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment and to Rosie’s mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him. Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy – and to give her hope in these tough times.

Genre

Classic fiction, Generational sagas

Listen to a sample

Praise for Kay Brellend from five-star reviews on
Amazon.co.uk:

Brilliant read! Really takes you through a journey of hardship love hate etc. Was gripped from beginning to end!!!
By Woo

This book was excellent, I didn't want it to end. Reading it made me feel like I was living in the era the book was set in.
By Amanda Bicknell

What a wonderful read…having been born near this area l could see the places and people as described, could not wait to read a few more chapters each night but was so sad when l finished it.
By LondonSue

loved this book the sort you pickup and can’t put back down, the setting and characters really come to life, it's as if you can see it and breath it. Wonderful.
By K