Pax
Sara Pennypacker, Read by Michael Curran-Dorsano

Book cover image

Narrated By: Michael Curran-Dorsano

Duration: 5 hours and 32 minutes

What to expect

A moving story of the extraordinary friendship between a boy and his fox, and their epic journey to be reunited.

Pax was only a kit when his family was killed and he was rescued by ‘his boy’, Peter. Now the country is at war and when his father enlists, Peter has no choice but to move in with his grandfather. Far worse than leaving home is the fact that he has to leave Pax behind. But before Peter spends even one night under his grandfather’s roof he sneaks out into the night, determined to find his beloved friend. This is the story of Peter, Pax, and their journeys back to each other as war rampages throughout the country.

A profound and moving story, ‘Pax’ is destined to become a classic in the vein of ‘Charlotte’s Web’ and ‘Watership Down’.

Genre

Children's / Teenage fiction & true stories, Children's / Teenage: Nature & animal stories

Listen to a sample

‘Pax the book is like Pax the fox: half wild and wholly beautiful.’ New York Times

'A heart wrenching masterpiece about the relationship between a boy and his fox' The Guardian

'A touching story about a boy and his pet, as well as a depiction of the devastating and often unseen consequences of war' Book Trust

‘A beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox.’ Sainsbury’s Entertainment

‘Every moment in the graceful, fluid narrative is believable … Moving and poetic.’ Kirkus