Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans
Cathy Sharp, Read by Antonia Beamish

Book cover image

Narrated By: Antonia Beamish

Duration: 12 hours and 24 minutes

What to expect

A gritty and compelling drama from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries.

Little twin sisters, Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her. Now he’s finally abandoned them both and they’ve found sanctuary at St Saviour’s Children’s Home in London’s East End. It seems they’re doomed to be separated; no one wants to take Sarah on, but life apart will break their hearts.
Alice, a former worker at the home who is now a mother and happily married to Bob, finds her happiness under threat when a face from the past reappears. Jack Shaw, East End bad boy, has always been Alice’s weak spot but is she really about to throw everything away?
Angela Morton has her hands full; she’s now in sole charge. But with Christmas approaching, and more than one orphan in desperate need, St Saviour’s is crying out for a miracle…

Genre

Classic fiction, Generational sagas

Listen to a sample

Over 200 four and five * reviews on Amazon:

‘A totally absorbing book…Real time disappeared for me.’

‘Brilliant story, couldn't put it down once I started to read.’

‘Having been brought up in the East End I could remember the various places and things talked about in this really well written book which kept you on the edge of your seat.’

‘Wonderful writer, believable characters, you got to know each one personally. I hope Cathy will continue this story.’

‘Really, really loved this book…Can’t wait to start the next one, have it already downloaded.’

‘Wonderful book, love the author…do not start it if you have something to do, hard to put down!’